Harriers Shine at Sexarathon Series

Wednesday 5th September saw the final race of the Sexarathon series take place, and there were lots of opportunities for Harriers runners to gain valuable points to secure some final top 3 category places.

A massive 389 runners turned out for the Harper Scarper event at Harper Adams in Newport, and yet again the weather was perfect for the 5k race. Over 30 Telford Harriers donned their green and gold tops, readied their watches and were poised for the start of the race.

The race starts at Harper Adams Agricultural Collage and is mainly on pathways so perfectly suited to our runners. And there were some fantastic results on the night.

First Harrier home was Dean Aston in 29th place and a time of 17:56 closely followed by Michael Smith crossing over the line in 18:31 and securing 37th place.

First female Harrier to finish was the ever impressive Vic Doran in 152nd position and in a time of 23:12. Christina O'Brien was 2nd female over in 23:34 closely followed by Lisa Yeomans in 23:37.

The full list of Harriers finishers as follows:

Dean Aston - 17:56, 29th place

Michael Smith - 18:31, 37th place

Jonathon Mahoney - 21:05, 99th place

Robin Chebsey - 22:04, 121st place

Richard Palmer - 22:12, 125th place

Gus Erlandson - 22:13, 127th place

Paul Ruscoe - 23:03, 148th place

Vic Doran - 23:!2, 152nd place

Christina O'Brien - 23:34, 165th place

Lisa Yeomans - 23:37, 167th place

Angela Vinall - 24:07, 177th place

Danny Jones - 24:43, 189th place

Stephen Davies - 25:01, 195th place

Gemma Chilton - 25:26, 205th place

Louise Bibbings - 25:38, 210th place

Phil Shieber - 25:44, 215th place

Lisa Thomas - 25:45, 218th place

Kelly Kempin - 25:45, 220th place

Sam Mclellend - 25:49, 222nd place

Kelly Mackay - 25:52, 223rd place

Karen Foreman - 26:22, 232nd place

Aiden Egleston - 26:45, 247th place

Melissa Williams - 28:16, 276th place

Hannah Bandy - 28:30, 279th place

Marie Mason - 28:33, 281st place

Tink Brasnell - 29:13, 286th place

Sonia Edmonds - 29:30, 290th place

Tania Willoughby - 29:35, 292nd place

Naomi Wrighton - 30:47, 317th place

Alison Canham - 31:10, 321st place

Kim Chatfield - 32:24, 330th place

Hazel Clarke - 34:55, 353rd place

Jim Hussey - 39:40, 383rd place

Claire O'Donnell - 48:23, 288th place

Marie Ruscoe - 51:35, 389th place

After all races had concluded, and points given out, there were some excellent results for the Harriers as follows:

Christina O'Brien took overall 3rd place for the series in the V35 ladies with 1665 points, behind Louise Morgan of Lawley in 2nd and Rachel Simms from Telford AC in 1st.

Kelly Kempin too overall 3rd place for the series in the V40 ladies with 1541 points behind Emma Parlato from Gnosall Ladies in 2nd and Danni Braine from Wolverhampton & Bilston in 1st.

Angela Vinall secured 3rd place overall in the V45 ladies category with 1630 points behind Elizabeth Bennet from Gnosall Ladies and Annabel Hodgson from Shropshire Shufflers in 1st.

Lisa Yeomans took 2nd place with 1662 points and Sam Mclelland took 3rd place with 1524 points in the V50 ladies category behind 1st place Cathy Williamson.

Naomi Wrighton took 2nd place in the V70 category with 921 points behind winner Dot Fellows from Cannock & Stafford AC.

In the mens section, Dean Aston took overall 3rd place in the Senior Mens category with 1740 points behind winner Jamir Davies from Telford AC and 2nd place Dominic Murray.

Gus Erlandson took 2nd place in the V60 mens category with 1264 points behind 1st placed Martin Summers from Bridgnorth Running Club.

Jim Hussey took 1st place in the V80 mens category with a total score of 677 points.

And so the curtain closes on another fantastic Sexarathon series which has proved very productive for the Harriers. We look forward to the 2019 series where the green and gold will be back to bag even more series places.


© 2020 Telford Harriers Running Club | contact@telfordharriers.co.uk


Telford running club, road running, trail running, fell running, marathon running, half marathon running, 10k running, couch to 5k, shropshire running club